Team and Network

UNESCO Chairs generally have just one chair holder, who is responsible for the chair program and who is authorized to label activities as UNESCO Chair. In the case of the UNESCO Chair, there is one Chair (responsible of the project) and two co-Chairs. These three have built up a long term cooperation with partners all over the world, the list of partners (below) is constantly growing. We are exchanging via email, mutual visits, and joint scientific activities. Due to UNESCO regulations,  partners are not authorized to use the Chair label without authorization by the Chair.

Chair: Karl M. Wantzen, Full professor on applied aquatic ecology, University of Tours, UMR CITERES research group. Personal homepage

Co-Chair: Aziz Ballouche, Full professor on geography, University of Angers, UMR LETG research group. Personal homepage

Co-Chair: Isabelle Longuet, director of the Mission val de Loire, Tours. Homepage


Scientific Partners

Universidade Federal de Mato Grosso (Brazil): Assessoria de Relações Internacionais – Reitoria, Avenida Fernando Corrêa, Nº 2367 - Boa Esperança, Cuiabá-MT 78060-900, Contacts: Prof. Dr. Paulo Teixeira, Prof. Dr. Pierre Girard (currently: Canada).

Universidad Nacional del Litoral Santa Fé (Argentina): Facultad de Humanidades y Ciencias -U.N.L. Ciudad Universitaria. Paraje El Pozo. Santa Fe C.P. 3000. Contact: Profa. Dra. MercedesMarchese.

Université de Bamako(Mali), BP E.2528, Bamako contact : Prof. Bani Touré.

Université Gaston Berger de Saint Louis (Sénégal) B.P: 234 Saint -Louis, SENEGAL, Contact: Prof.Ibrahima BAO.

Institut fondamental d’Afrique Noire (IFAN) (Sénégal) : BP 206, Dakar, Sénégal Contact: Prof.Hamadi BOCOUM (Directeur).

The Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University (India) Department of Zoology at Srinagar.(Garhwal), Uttarakhand and The Centre for Inland Waters in South Asia Khajurao (MP, India). Contacts: Prof. Dr. Prakash Nautiyal, Prof. Dr. Brij Gopal, Dr. Malavika Chauhan.

The European Regional Centre for Ecohydrology under the auspices of UNESCO, 3, Tylna Str.,90-364, Lodz, Poland, contact: Professor Dr. Maciej Zalewski